Vacation Reading

IMG_3969

As an avid reader, I view vacations as an opportunity to read…A LOT!  Planning the books I want to read on vacation is all part of the fun.  Now that I have a Kindle, that planning includes when to request the books I want from the local library.  I know, I’m a dork.

In July I went on two trips.  One was a family reunion in Missouri.  The other was a camping trip with my husband’s family in Michigan.  Although I didn’t make it through quite as many books as I had hoped, I did really enjoy a couple of the books I read.  There’s nothing worse than having high hopes for a book only to find it’s not as good as the hype.

During these trips I read The Martian by Andy Weir, Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, Dark Places by Gillian Flynn and Dead Wake by Erik Larsen.  My favorites were The Martian and Dead Wake.

The Martian is one of those books you can’t put down.  I read somewhere the book started as blog posts or journal entries from Weir, until readers encouraged him to expand it further.  I’m glad he did!  In the book, Mark is an astronaut who landed on Mars with a team of other astronauts.  A large storm pops up and the rest of the team believes Mark died so they evacuate Mars and head back to Earth.  Mark is not dead though, and now needs to find a way to survive until he’s rescued.  The book has topped the charts and is being made into a movie now.  Definitely read it before it comes out in theaters!

Historical and historical fiction books are some of my favorite now, and Dead Wake did not disappoint.  Although I didn’t love history in school, I’ve really taken an interest this genre in the last couple of years.  Erik Larsen does a great job telling the story and capturing your attention.  The book is about the sinking of the Lusitania and does a great job of going into the history of the boats, submarines and captains of those boats.  Although I vaguely remember reading about this in history classes, it was nice to learn more about this event and its impact on WW1.

Leave a Reply

