Fresh Summer Produce = Sweet corn, zucchini and mozzarella pizza!

I love summer for many reasons.  First of all, I hate cold weather, so I always look forward to temperatures rising, not needing to bundle up to walk to your car, shoveling feet of snow, etc.  I love being outdoors and the longer days.  It gives me so much more energy.

One of the best things about summer is the fresh produce available.  Our local farmer’s market is on Saturday mornings, and unfortunately I haven’t been able to make many of them this year.  I love gazing through all the products and knowing I’m helping those in my community by purchasing from them rather than a nationwide chain.  And of course, the food tastes so much better!  My parents started a garden last year, so I enjoy some of their extras as well.corn & green beans

This week I got some sweet corn from my Grandparent’s/Uncle & Aunt’s farm, so we’re going to enjoy that with every meal.  I’ll also freeze some for this winter.  Even frozen, it’s still 100 times better than store bought canned or frozen corn.frozen corn

Now that all this fresh produce is available, I’m looking forward to making one of my favorite foods.  Sweet corn, zucchini & mozzarella pizza.  My husband thinks this sounds disgusting.  The zucchini and lack of actual sauce on the pizza frightened him away.  I can’t get enough though, so when he’s out of town it’s my special treat.  Here’s a link to the recipe I use.  I also make the dough from scratch, making it that much tastier!

Try it out, you don’t know what you’re missing until you do!Corn & Zucchini Pizza

Leave a Reply

