A Walk In the Woods

I’ll be the first to admit, when it comes to movies, more than likely I haven’t seen it.  My husband teased me when we were dating about how few “popular” movies I had watched.  We created a “Dave & Betsy Movie List” to ensure I checked off the most important ones.

These days I just can’t justify the high ticket prices, especially when half the movies are crap.  I would much rather read the book anyway.a walk in the woods movie poster

When I saw the ads for “A Walk in the Woods” though, I decided we need to see this one.  First of all, I enjoy seeing films based on books.  Usually I prefer reading the book before watching the film, but that wasn’t possible with my schedule in this case.  Secondly, I knew it was a film my husband would enjoy since it was about hiking the Appalachian Trail.  My husband loves hiking, and would love to hike the Appalachian Trail himself one day.  In my opinion that’s an awfully long time for him to be away from home, but we’ll see.  Anyway though…

The movie was enjoyable.  It definitely had its funny moments.  In fact, some people in the theater seemed to think it was downright hysterical.  I enjoyed the story line and scenery.  Makes me wonder why we don’t all spend more time outdoors.

Smoky Mountain hiking Jan 2015

Some parts of it were more believable than others.  First of all, Robert Redford and Nick Nolte are in their 70s.  I don’t know too many 70 year old men still capable of that trek.  In the book I believe those characters are only in their 50s however.  Secondly, Nick Nolte appeared to be in such poor shape, it made me further question his ability to hike a mile, let alone over 2000.  They did make this point as they began their journey however.

I loved the idea of being able to drop everything to embark on an adventure.  Too often we are so comfortable with the average and expected “American dream” that we forget to dream ourselves.  This movie was a great reminder to never settle for the easy path.  Push toward achieving everything you desire.

I like this quote:  “Every morning you have two choices:  continue to sleep with your dreams or wake up and chase them.”

What do you choose today?

Leave a Reply

