Healthy Eating with a Picky Husband

I do my best to eat healthy throughout the week.  I definitely still enjoy a savory burger or slice of pizza though.  When I cook at home, I strive to incorporate a variety of veggies and keep things lower calorie.  This can be difficult at times since my husband isn’t the fondest of vegetables.

Kung Pao Chicken Zoodles
Kung Pao Chicken Zoodles

When he’s out of town I experiment though.  This is my chance to try out new recipes I know he would hate.  Through these experiments, I’ve stumbled upon some great ways to make his favorite dishes in a way both of us can enjoy the meal.  Let me introduce zoodles, spaghetti squash and cauliflower rice!

I was first introduced to these amazing ideas on Skinnytaste’s blog.  If you haven’t tried any of Gina’s recipes on her blog, I highly encourage you to look through her site.  I’ve tried dozens of her recipes and haven’t run across one I didn’t like yet.

Using a spiralizer, you can make zucchini noodles instead of pasta.  A food processor can be used to make cauliflower rice.  And spaghetti squash can be substituted for pasta as well.  No, none of these veggies tastes the same as the real thing, but Gina has a way of seasoning things just right to make you feel like you’re not missing anything.

Shrimp Scampi Zoodles
Shrimp Scampi Zoodles & Asparagus

Using these vegetables, I can make my regular main dish (spaghetti, stir fry, etc), and my husband can have the regular rice or pasta, while I have the lower carb/calorie veggie.  Works out perfectly!

Here’s a few of my favorite recipes for you to try in your own house!

Kung Pao Chicken Zoodles

Shrimp Scampi Zoodles

Zucchini Spaghetti, Crispy Prosciutto and Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon-Parmesan Sauce

Spaghetti Squash Lasagna

Leave a Reply

